Bernat Velvet 315yds Bulky Polyester Yarn

by Bernat |

Item # 16552549
Bernat Velvet 315yds Bulky Polyester Yarn is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 417.
  • y_2024, m_6, d_20, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_31, tr_386
  • loc_en_US, sid_zprd_16083529a, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_joann
Discounted Price $8.99 Old Price $11.99 ea.

You save $3.00

  • 25% off Entire Stock Yarn

  • 10% off your order of $85+, 15% off $100+, or 20% off $150+ | Free Shipping over $75 when you use code:

How To Get It

Bernat Velvet 315yds Bulky Polyester Yarn

Bernat Velvet is an eye-catching yarn that works up into lush, velvety knit and crochet projects. Featuring a beautiful shine and classic shade range, Velvet is a soft choice for blanket and pillow projects for your home. Be sure to hand wash Velvet to keep it looking like new.

Product Details
  • Helpful hint: To ensure ease-of-use and avoid any twists, we recommend working each skein from the outside instead of pulling from the middle.
  • Content: 100% Polyester
  • Ball Size: 300g / 10.5oz, 288m / 315yd
  • Care: Hand Wash
  • Gauge: 5 - Bulky
  • Knitting Gauge: 12 sts and 17 rows with a 6.5 mm (U.S. 10.5) knitting needle
  • Crochet Gauge: 10 sc and 11 rows with a 6.5 mm (U.S. K/10.5 ) crochet hook
  • Recommended for: Knit and crochet home decor projects
  • Recommended Knitting Needle: 6.5 mm
  • Recommended Crochet Hook: 6.5 mm
  • CURBSIDE & IN-STORE PICK-UP

    Skip the shipping! It's Free! Place your order by 3pm (local time) and pick up your order either at curbside or in-store same day.   LEARN MORE
     

    SHIPPING

    Most items typically ship within 1-3 business days, you'll receive an email with tracking information as soon as that happens! You can usually expect delivery within 6-10 business days, after you place your order, depending on destination.   LEARN MORE


    RETURNS

    We want you to be completely satisfied, so we are happy to accept returns for most online purchases in-stores for free or by mail, minus a $7.95 shipping and handling fee. Sewing Machines (all brands) & Craft Tech Machines (all brands) require a $25 restocking fee if returned by the customer. For policy exclusions, including electronics, please review our RETURN POLICY.

      

    Just For You

    You may also like

    Frequently Bought Together

    Just For You

    Frequently Bought Together

    Best Sellers

    Shop JOANN's Top Selling Products
    #HANDMADEWITHJOANN

    #HANDMADEWITHJOANN

    SHOW US WHAT YOU MADE SHOW US WHAT YOU MADE
    Write a product review for a chance to
    WIN A $100 JOANN GIFT CARD!

    WIN A $100 JOANN GIFT CARD!

    Valid 6/1 - 6/31 for U.S. orders only
    TERMS & CONDITIONS
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Soft I bought this yarn to make Christmas stockings. It was easy to work with and super soft.
    Date published: 2024-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great yarn for crocheting lambs Love this yarn! I made stuffed crocheted lambs using this yarn for the body, part of the head and on the arms and legs. Did different colors. Friends and Family all loved them
    Date published: 2024-03-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from "WORMY" AFGHAN I PURCHASED 4 SKEINS OF THIS VELVET YARN AND MADE A LARGE AFGHAN FOR T MY GREAT GRANDSON IN THE PINE COLOR. I LOVED THE FEEL OF IT. THE CARE INSTRUCTIONS FOR THIS YARN WAS ON THE INSIDE OF THE YARN LABEL WHICH YOU CAN'T SEE OR READ UNLESS YOU TEAR THE LABEL OFF AND READ THE BACK OF THE LABEL FOR THE CARE INSTRUCTIONS. I DID NOT DO THAT AS I ASSUMED IT WOULD BE WASHABLE AND DRYABLE. I DID NOT HAND WASH IT BUT DID USE THE GENTLE CYCLE. IT WOULD HAVE BEEN VERY HARD TO HAND WASH AN AFGHAN 45" X 60". I THINK THEY SHOULD HAVE PUT THAT INFO ON THE FRONT OF THE YARN LABEL. I JUST WANT TO WARN OTHERS THAT BUY THIS YARN THAT IT IS NOT MACHINE WASHABLE/DRYABLE. I UNRAVELED THE AFGHAN AS MUCH AS I COULD SALVAGE BUT REALLY CAN'T FIND ANY USE FOR IT.
    Date published: 2024-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for amigurumi projects Don’t discontinue this yarn! It makes awesome stuffed animals!
    Date published: 2024-03-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Tragic I knitted a 2-row, knit only blanket. When I washed it (on gentle setting), I removed it from washer and there were huge loops throughout the blanket. I tried wet blocking but nothing helped. I frogged the whole thing. I’d like to use the yarn to knit another blanket but I’m truly skeptical to try again in another pattern.
    Date published: 2024-03-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun, Soft Yarn I purchased this to crochet a sweet little goose for my niece. I am still pretty new to crochet, and hadn't worked with anything other than standard cotton, polyester, or "tube" filled yarn. There was definitely a learning curve with this, but after learning that I had to feel, more than see, my stitches, it actually became pretty fun! The yarn glides pretty well against itself and the hook, and covered up some places where I accidentally dropped or picked up a stitch because of how fluffy it is. It's sooo soft and will be perfect for the 1-year-old I am giving it to! Other reviews mentioned that it sheds a lot, so I was prepared for that, but I was shocked how little it ended up shedding. It did a little bit when I had to frog it, but even then it was just some pieces, the yarn still looked very fluffy and was usable.
    Date published: 2024-03-08
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from So disappointed. I had the same problem another crafter experienced. I knitted a blanket using this yarn and when I washed it, great big loops of yarn were all over the piece. Blocking didn’t help. I frogged the whole thing. I used a very simple 2-row repeat, all knit pattern.
    Date published: 2024-03-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cannot frog I was doing a lamb and realized I did the wrong color for the ears. I tried to frog what I did and couldn’t get it to pull it apart. Keep this in mind if you have to fix a mistake.
    Date published: 2024-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bernat Velvet Yarn My second purchase of this yarn. It works well for some projects.
    Date published: 2024-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really soft I love this yarn, and it’s my go-to. The mushroom color is versatile and I’m able to use it for so many different projects.
    Date published: 2024-02-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super soft makes for great scarves or blankets Currently working on a blanket. It's going to take several of these velvet yarns but it's so soft and will be well worth it. I was working with the black too but the black was knotted and broke so I would say make sure you unwind the yarn to make sure it's not knotted or tangled like the ones I purchase. Will be buying again. It's so soft and 100% worth the hassle to detangle.
    Date published: 2023-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cozy and luxurious comfort! I love working with this yarn crocheting afghans for baby blankets and as luxurious throw blankets for all to snuggle up in.
    Date published: 2023-12-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beware of golden moss and indigo blue shedding I have used this yarn to make multiple blankets however I recently discovered some very frustrating quality issues in both the golden moss and indigo. The yarn shreds off the string, causing exposed string. This causes major problems, as you will most likely need to cut the yarn in order to make corrections; wasting a ton of time, money and yarn. I gave this yarn 3 stars because all of the other colors I have used I have not had this experience
    Date published: 2023-12-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from no issues! I haven’t used it too much yet. I am liking it, though!
    Date published: 2023-12-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Frustrating yarn! So I bought the Terracotta Rose about a month ago for a plushie I was making as a gift. The moment I saw the color I fell in love and it was super soft! That's where all the positive feedback ends. Overall I'm not happy with my purchase this yarn was shedding more than usual its not my first time using velvet yarn. I couldn't go more than two stitches without it breaking apart and having to redo the entire plushie, or at times an entire row. It was so frustrating at times that I almost gave up. Don't get me wrong my experience may not be the same one you might have, but in my opinion the quality of the specific color? It definitely could be better.
    Date published: 2023-12-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't get handed to USPS for shipping I bought this item as part of a pick-up order, the store shorted me the items. I tried to buy the item a second time as an online order with delivery, and it has been 4 days since their "shipped and on the way email" and when I click on the usps tracking number, USPS says the item still has not been given to USPS for shipment. 😡
    Date published: 2023-11-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Zero stars This yarn is awful… it pulled out of the skein in a huge knotted mess. Impossible to unravel, the process left little “velvet” clumps all over me, the floor, the chair, etc. when you cut it, the “velvet” comes off the string holding it. I’m left with a unusable pile. On another note, this yarn is really soft and would make cozy things! Disappointed beyond words.
    Date published: 2023-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite yarn I love the look and feel of this yarn and it's my favorite to crochet with
    Date published: 2023-10-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from To soft This was not a gud yarn it was breaking and besides that I used the required hook.
    Date published: 2023-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So soft! I have started back crocheting after 40 years... this yarn is so soft and easy to work with. I have made several blankets from the bernat velvet yarn and love them all!!!
    Date published: 2023-07-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yummy Velvet yarn Loved the feel of this yarn the entire time I crocheted the blanket. The only reason I didn’t give it 5 stars because the yarn is slippery and I am reading that it sheds and may melt in the dryer. No problems yet but wonderful cozy texture!
    Date published: 2023-07-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My Go To Yarn I’ve been using this yarn for about 2 years now. Because of its velvety soft texture, this is my go to yarn for all of the blankets that I make. I used Mushroom and White for a baby blanket. The family loved it so much that they’ve asked me to make another blanket with baby’s name on it using Smokey Green and Quiet Pink. I always recommend to my blanket recipients to wash the blanket inside a laundry bag to preserve the stitches. Happy crocheting!
    Date published: 2023-07-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Buy Velvet Yarn, Use Smaller Hook I L*0*V*E this yarn! Purchased a few years ago when it was plentiful. I have five large plastic storage containers full. Hello, Yarnspirations!!! Almost every complaint is about worming. Too bad the labels say to use a large hook, 6.5; even the 6.0 is too large. That's what causes all the worming. I ripped out items, recocheted them with a 5.5 hook, and now they are just fine. I wonder if you had indicated the smaller hook if you would not now be discontinuing such a fabulous yarn. I chose the middle star because I love the yarn, but hated the worming. Fellow hookers, do not be discouraged. Buy the Velvet yarn and use a smaller hook. I promise you will be happy you did. Hurry, they are running out.
    Date published: 2023-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'll buy more for sure! Bought this about a week ago to make a Minecraft creeper amigurumi. It's super soft and the shine on the yarn gives it a lovely pixelated effect, I think the shine would even make working with it in black not that bad! I would reccomend lining the inside of any plush with cotton fabric to keep any polyfill or whatever from leaking out because this isn't good for crocheting or knitting up tightly.
    Date published: 2023-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this yarn I love this yarn. It is soft and easy to work with. It is comfy and soft to wear. It crochets and knits up beautifully.
    Date published: 2023-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and easy to work up Easy to work up. Very nice finish and so very soft
    Date published: 2023-03-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So soft! Perfect for plushies I have been using Bernat velvet for making lovey and I can't stop, hope they will have more color
    Date published: 2023-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, rich gold colour This is a gorgeous, lush, burnt gold colour. It feels soft like velvet and is a joy to work with. I love how rich and saturated the colour is.
    Date published: 2023-03-02
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed! Bought this to make a blanket for my granddaughter, and anticipated great success. Unfortunately, I had to throw the finished product out. Yarn is very slippery, and stretched out in great big loops from start to finish. I am an experienced knitter, and used a reliable pattern, and have a nice even hand. I kept thinking it might even out with careful blocking/stretching, but no such luck. Very disappointed.
    Date published: 2023-02-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from This is hit or miss......... This yarn is all a matter of "taste". I purchased 2 skeins of this awhile back and held onto it and am currently using it in a throw using a 6.5 hook. I can say it's working up fine for me HOWEVER (that being said) I would NEVER purchase this again because it's just a pain in the tookis to work with and nope, not in love. But, it's pretty and soft .... so, yea. This is just my own, personal opinion.
    Date published: 2023-02-10
    • y_2024, m_6, d_20, h_6
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_31, tr_386
    • loc_en_US, sid_zprd_16083529a, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_joann