Face Mask

by JOANN |

Item # 042188731P321
Face Mask is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 163.
  • y_2024, m_4, d_15, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_163
  • loc_en_US, sid_042188731P321, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_joann
Intermediate Varies
SUPPLIES & TOOLS:
  • Cotton Fabric – at least 12”X9”
  • Lightweight Fusible Interfacing 12” X9”
  • 1/4” Elastic
  • Basic Sewing Supplies


DIRECTIONS:
  1. Download the pattern by clicking “download PDF” below Print Description on the right.
  2. Cut 1 pattern piece, on the fold, out of the cotton fabric and lightweight interfacing
  3. Apply fusible interfacing to wrong side of cotton fabric using an iron.
  4. Fold fabric right sides together, matching 9-inch (8-inch) sides.
  5. Sew along the 9 (8) inch side, using 1/4” seam allowance and leaving a space 3” wide in the center to turn mask right side out.
  6. Cut 2 pieces of elastic 7 inches long. Insert into the corners of the two open ends of the mask and pin into place. Sew across sides, backstitching well over the elastic, to secure the elastic in place.
  7. Turn mask right side out and press seams flat.
  8. Using pattern as a guide, fold up 3 pleats on each side, making sure the pleats are folded in the same direction. Pin into place.
  9. Top stitch around the entire mask, securing the pleats and closing the opening.

JOANN HACKS:
  • Substitute elastic with 4- 16” Fabric Ties at each corner.
  • Any light-medium weight, non-woven interfacing is appropriate for this project. 


Please read and follow all manufacturers' instructions for all tools and materials used. Provide adult supervision if children participate in this project. Masks are not intended for hospital or medical use and are not OSHA certified. Please follow CDC guidelines for use of masks.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to make, comfortable to wear This is a super pattern. I have made several for friends, family and people who show interest in the one I am wearing. I live in Brisbane and masks are not common (YET!), but I like to remind people that we are in a scary pandemic and it's much better to be vigilant than sorry.
Date published: 2020-07-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Perfect Mask WITH MAJOR FLAW JOANN the mask you are showing is UPSIDE DOWN! Pleats NEED to be folded DOWNWARD on the front of the mask ... think house shingles ... everything should be flowing downwards MOT and gutters!
Date published: 2020-06-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Adult mask pattern is too small I downloaded the adult pattern and its much too small. I will have to modify it by adding at least 2 more inches on all sides. If I add the pleats, it will be even smaller. I thought it would at least cover the nose and go under the chin. It DOES NOT. This is for a small adult ONLY.
Date published: 2020-06-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sizes As far as I can tell kids size is exactly the same in the instructions as the adult size. Was looking for a kids as well just to have incase. And there should be a man's size as well I made 15x8 with 7 inch elastic and fits women well. One size does not fit all. Good video
Date published: 2020-05-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Direction of pleats Mask directions say to fold pleats up. Sad to say, if pleats are folded up, they with catch many more droplets that are floating around. I recommend that pleats are folded down so that doesn't happen. One way is to work from the side that touches the face, and fold the pleats up, and when you put the mask on, the outside pleats will be turned down. Much safer.
Date published: 2020-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adult size is fine, nose addition perfect I used the adult size for myself and my two sons (19 & 24), added an extra inch on the ear straps for my hubby and they worked out perfect. Cannot imagine how these would be too big unless no pleats were made? Bias tape nose bridge works excellent, like how you can now tell inside from outside.
Date published: 2020-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This works best I've tried several different patterns to make a mask, but I find this one suits me best. I did add some wire to the top of the mask before closing the hole and sewing all the way around. When it came time to stitch where the wire was, I just stitched the wire inside the seam. Works well for forming over my nose and not fogging up my glasses.
Date published: 2020-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much easier and quicker than other methods Very easy pattern and instructions. I found the elastic a little loose so would cut it at 6.5 inches rather than 7 inches. Also I added a nose bridge wire made of floral wire. I curled the ends to avoid puncturing the fabric and sticking the person wearing the mask and machine stitched near the wire to hold it in place. This helped to prevent fogging glasses and provided a better face seal.
Date published: 2020-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from interfacing sticking Hello just had question actually. All instructions seem pretty clear now except when I was stitching it inside out with sticky side of interfacing on sewing machine, it kept shifting and getting all messed up? Tried googling solutions to no avail. How can I remedy this? Am I using wrong footer? Please help. If not for this problem, I could easily produce masks Thanks Cyndi
Date published: 2020-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great and Easy to make I was looking for a quick and simple pattern due it being years since I sewed something. This video was a great find and very easy to follow!! I had plenty of left over material from bother projects and came up with these beautiful creations using this tutorial! Thank You!
Date published: 2020-05-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This Pattern Skips Several Steps I know I am a beginner, but my mom and my best friend are both intermediate/advanced at using a sewing machine and following sewing patterns. It literally took almost 4 hours to make one mask because of how poorly this pattern is writtern. Both the written directions and the video skip important steps which made it very hard to decipher what to do. Additionally, the mask turned out much smaller than the directions say it will. I cut and sewed everything according to the adult pattern, but still ended up with a mask that just barely fit the child size pattern. It is going to be an extremely tight fit and probably won't be comfortable for me to wear all day at work. I'm disappointed.
Date published: 2020-05-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pleats down Proper pleat placement. The folds are to go downward like a waterfall.
Date published: 2020-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from How to use what is in the house!! Pattern worked well, but need a large size for men. I layered 2 used fabric sheets and used shoe laces when I ran out of elastic and fusible interfacing. The fabric sheets were stitched in place. To flatten fabric sheets, warm in dryer and hand press or press with iron using parchment paper so iron does not get damaged.
Date published: 2020-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great The 1$t one is the hardest after that easy, fun, if you like to sew, and rewarding. I have to much material, nice way to use it up.
Date published: 2020-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pleats should face down I made meals for a hospital and they were specific that pleats face down so germs, debris, etc. cannot get lodged in the fold. The pattern is great, just aim your pleats south. Thanks!
Date published: 2020-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Text instr have diff meas than printed pattern Text instr say 12x9 but .pdf pattern image shows 9x6 adult and 8x5 children's size
Date published: 2020-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good basic mask Have made 90+ of these so far, supplying family, friends and local nursing group working directly w covid19 patients. Easy to wash & reuse. Ran out of elastic, but saw another tutorial online that uses ties made from old cut up T-shirts. Takes longer to put on w ties BUT one size fits all faces better (noses, chins, small ears, etc).
Date published: 2020-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from If you are a mouth breather.... This turned out well making it 6X9 and putting the bias tape pocket for a pipe cleaner on the bridge of the nose as suggested my another review. When I wore it I found that since I breathe through my mouth more than nose the mask kept pulling to mouth as I breathed. Adding another bias tape pocket and piece of pipe cleaner horizontally across the mouth area and giving it a gentle curve solved the problem. I left the pockets open on one end so the pipe cleaner could be removed when the mask is washed.
Date published: 2020-04-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Kids Face Mask I picked up a "kit" to make kids masks, but there are small pieces as well as the regular rectangle. There are NO instructions nor can I find any one line. Has any one made the kids masks with the kit provided by JoAnn's? Thanks.
Date published: 2020-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I did it! The video was enough for me to. Well done. Made the pattern in thick drawing paper. Jotted down the measurement points. Stitch it up by HAND! the 2nd mask was easier. I've made 4 so far. Made them from unused cotton dishtowels. The. dishtowel finished sides were cut off and to length for the ear attachments. Thanks for the lesson. Ok
Date published: 2020-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pattern works well. I've made quite a few masks for friends and family, not problem at all. Using non-woven interfacing makes it a bot difficult to breathe at times if you don't prewash the mask before pleating. I end up washing the cotton fabric before cutting then the mask before pleating. Hard to find interfacing now though ... stabilizer seems to be all that is available and that won't work at all of course! Love using fat quarters as I can make 2 masks from each fat quarter and they look so nice!
Date published: 2020-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect pattern these printout were great. previous comments were made about sizing. I noticed it was just the sizing had shrunk down on my particular device. one device printed it fine and the other shrunk it to 73%. the sizing of a finished mask... The Childs size is definitely too small for me as an adult. they fit my 8 year old perfectly. the elastic I cut for an adult mask and the adult mask fir the kids a little large but used shorter elastic so they were snug and not falling off. The instructions were easy to read and follow. I'm using interfacing as well.
Date published: 2020-04-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Interfacing Issue Sew in interfacing is recommended rather than iron on interfacing. The iron on interfacing does not stand up to boiling or autoclaving or frequent washings in hot water or drying in high heat.
Date published: 2020-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but sizing & pleats make a difference I tried this and made several for family members. I watched the video but I missed the "non" woven interfacing and bought a ton of pellon flex interfacing which was all I could find. I'm not sure if all the masks I've made are now completely useless. Cant find information about the impact. I cant return the interfacing so I'm not sure what to do now. Ugh. Also didnt realize there were other sizes. Some family members complained that their masks didnt fit, those with wider faces than mine.
Date published: 2020-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from face mask I made both of these mask and my husband really likes the denim ones best.
Date published: 2020-04-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Materials not available Why post instructions when you can't buy any of the materials? No elastic, no interfacing.
Date published: 2020-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from How to tell back from front I don't think it is necessary to use different fabrics for the back and front. It is a lot easier to cut one piece of fabric on the fold. I just used a permanent marker to put a dot on the back of mine and marked my husband's with his initial L.
Date published: 2020-04-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pattern is not sized correctly I measured the pattern before cutting actual material because it just didn't look right. The pattern is at smaller than dimensions state.
Date published: 2020-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The sizes are all wrong The sizes really need to be adjusted for this tutorial. There isn't enough fabric, and the elastic pieces are too long. The fit is very loose. Yeah, it covers the nose and mouth, but there are big gaps on the sides, which just makes the final product seem useless. I'll be looking for tutorials elsewhere.
Date published: 2020-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to make Once you make one, you can do this over and over! I dug through old fabrics I had and found blackout lining from an old curtain project. Not much can get through that!
Date published: 2020-04-18
  • y_2024, m_4, d_15, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_163
  • loc_en_US, sid_042188731P321, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_joann

More Project Ideas