Lion Brand Fishermen's Worsted Wool Yarn

by Lion Brand |

Item # 10096261
Lion Brand Fishermen's Worsted Wool Yarn is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 120.
  • y_2024, m_7, d_14, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_116
  • loc_en_US, sid_prd2701, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_joann
Discounted Price $11.89 Old Price $13.99 ea.

You save $2.10

  • 15% off Select Items - Online Only Deal

  • 10% off your order of $85+, 15% off $100+, or 20% off $150+ | Free Shipping over $75 when you use code:

Buy more save more

Quantity
1 - 9
Price
$11.89 ea.
Discount
15%
10
$10.70 ea.
24%
How To Get It
Use the Lion Brand Fishermen's Wool to knit garments for skiing and fishing trips as the fisherman's wool keeps you warm and is also water-resistant. The yarn is also ideal to make thick slippers, bags and creative home decor accessories like placemats and throws. Ideal for dyeing in vibrant colors, this versatile yarn is a great choice to use in different kinds of craft projects.
  • Brand: Lion Brand
  • Composition: Solids: 100% wool; Tweeds: 90% wool, 7% acrylic, 3% rayon
  • Weight Category: 4
  • Weight: Solids 8 oz, 348 yds Tweeds are 6 oz
  • Knit Gauge: 4 in = 16 stitches on size 9 needles
  • Recommended Crochet Hook Size: H8
  • Care: Hand wash, lay flat to dry
  • The manufacturer will try to match dye lots but it is not guaranteed

CURBSIDE & IN-STORE PICK-UP

Skip the shipping! It's Free! Place your order by 3pm (local time) and pick up your order either at curbside or in-store same day.   LEARN MORE
 

SHIPPING

Most items typically ship within 1-3 business days, you'll receive an email with tracking information as soon as that happens! You can usually expect delivery within 6-10 business days, after you place your order, depending on destination.   LEARN MORE


RETURNS

We want you to be completely satisfied, so we are happy to accept returns for most online purchases in-stores for free or by mail, minus a $7.95 shipping and handling fee. Sewing Machines (all brands) & Craft Tech Machines (all brands) require a $25 restocking fee if returned by the customer. For policy exclusions, including electronics, please review our RETURN POLICY.

  

Just For You

You may also like

Frequently Bought Together

Just For You

Frequently Bought Together

Best Sellers

Shop JOANN's Top Selling Products
#HANDMADEWITHJOANN

#HANDMADEWITHJOANN

SHOW US WHAT YOU MADE SHOW US WHAT YOU MADE
Write a product review for a chance to
WIN A $100 JOANN GIFT CARD!

WIN A $100 JOANN GIFT CARD!

Valid 7/1 - 7/31 for U.S. orders only
TERMS & CONDITIONS
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yarn as it Should be I've made socks, blankets, gloves and sweaters using this yarn. It is excellent to work with. A bonus is the lanolin as you work your yarn. Compared to other yarns you know your projects will last years and years.
Date published: 2022-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So classic I crochet blankets with this wool. It is not the softest but also doesn’t pill like the wool blends. My family loves the natural fibers so I use this as it is 100% wool. It is such a classic look
Date published: 2022-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great budget yarn I keep buying this yarn whenever I have 50% coupon leftover. Its great pure wool, although on the thin side of size 4. I would classify it as 3, so experiment with gauge or knit double.
Date published: 2022-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Yarn Doesn't fray and is great quality wool. I would recommend for sweaters and other warm garments.
Date published: 2022-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite I use this yarn to make adult sweaters. Great stitch definition for textured pattern. Bought most of the colors, love them all.
Date published: 2021-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A go-to yarn for me. So, I love this yarn. It’s not perfect, but it’s a tremendous value for what it is - buy it on sale and it’s basically the same price as acrylic, which is great for me since I strongly prefer to work with natural fibers but I’m always on a budget. It’s a sturdy undyed wool (all natural colors! I’m a huge fan of undyed natural wool), with lanolin still present, which makes for a warm and somewhat water-resistant end product. I love how my hands are soft and moisturized when I spend a lot of time working with this stuff. It’s definitely not a fancy wool yarn by any stretch - this is not a super soft merino, and it’s not superwash so it’ll definitely felt. It can be scratchy if worn next to skin - I personally like a more textured wool, but even for me it can be itchy in more sensitive areas like my neck or face (I wouldn’t use it for scarves or hats, personally. Works great for sweaters/cardigans, and it’s one of my absolute favorite yarns for blankets). Best value wool yarn on the market, by far.
Date published: 2021-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very promising This yarn works up beautifully and is softer after washing and blocking. I always use a neutral soap to wash with minimal disruption to avoid felting, and then a second pass using regular hair conditioner. It has some good stretch even just in stockinette. I know people have complained that the lighter colorways do not felt if intended, but when lighter wool yarn is processed, usually some bleach is used to even out the tones. The bleaching process can "dissolve" some of the scales on the fibers, making it more of a medium "superwash" effect. I plan on knitting some workhorse socks and dyeing this yarn, so hopefully it won't felt much for me.
Date published: 2021-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Knit socks! I was able to make these beautiful socks and I did a review of them on my youtube channel. I love this yarn!
Date published: 2020-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fishermen's Wool Makes Everything "Cozy" Love Fishermen's Wool Yarn.........perfect for garments and accessories........if you want to keep warm!
Date published: 2020-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This yarn is so soft and squishy!! LOVE THIS YARN!!! This yarn is so soft and squishy.... and the perfect weight. It's a joy to work with -- I am planning to knit a Celtic cable blanket with it.
Date published: 2020-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice wool yarn Nice wool yarn. Soft, not scratchy. Just what I was looking for to finish a project. Thanks, Joann for having it for me.
Date published: 2020-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this yarn I love this yarn. It's a huge amount of yarn for the price, the price (esp. on sale) is good, and it's a sturdy yarn that knits and felts well. It's not particularly soft - I wouldn't call it itchy necessarily, just not "soft" - but for scarves, hats, slippers, etc. it works very well. It's a very light worsted yarn but a great alternative if other yarns aren't in the budget. I do wish the color selection were larger.
Date published: 2020-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the wool...and Joann's! The Lion's Brand Fisherman's Wool is perfect for my project - a crocheted afghan for my daughter. She requested it be made with 100% wool and I was so happy to find it at joann.com, especially since I was unable to shop locally because of the pandemic. Joann.com is great - very fast service and great prices!
Date published: 2020-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lion brand Fishermen’s Wool -shipping This is good stuff good for sock knitting machines. 0 star for Horrible shipping from Joannes did not get my discount on the shipping. First they shipped one in 2 weeks later I got the nine other skeins. Websites stated in stock
Date published: 2020-05-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Different yarns in same order Labels may be the same but the colors are completely different - not even close. More of a difference than different dye lot. The order of 4 came in with the mixed yarn. All were very different.
Date published: 2020-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wool Yarn Had a project that called for wool and it is working great.
Date published: 2020-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lake rug It’s a great wool. I’ve made a rug and I’m making another one too.
Date published: 2020-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lion Brand Fisherman's Wool I've been wanting this yarn for a long time. Glad I finally pulled the trigger! I'm planning on dying it.
Date published: 2020-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yarn for throw Great yarn for knitting a throw. Item arrived fast in safe packaging. Thank you!!
Date published: 2020-04-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best yarn for mittens Love Fisherman's wool.I knit the best mittens in the world with this yarn.Semi water proof and even those who say they don't like wool love the mittens I make from this yarn! Great to work with!
Date published: 2020-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used for weaving an Afghan Worked great for weaving an Afghan! My first try at making panels on my 15” Cricket loom.
Date published: 2020-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite yarn I have used this yarn for many years and its wonderful to knit and crochet with, I like the natural and nature brown colors best. It makes warm lovely mittens, scarves and and any project is easy with this yarn!
Date published: 2020-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Don't like purchasing yarn on-line :-( I dislike buying yarn on-line, mostly because I can't feel it, and the color rarely matches what is on the monitor. This yarn is kind of scratchy and is splitting while I crochet. I'm hoping that when I finish the afghan and wash it, that I can get it a bit softer, but the color I purchased is much darker than it appeared on the screen
Date published: 2020-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from natural wool Very sturdy, dyes nicely. I plan to make nappy's and lanolize them.
Date published: 2020-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cream Vest using Lion Brand Wool I have used this yarn often, and here is an example of a vest that I knitted with it.
Date published: 2020-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great wool for Aran sweaters Love this yarn knits up really well, soft and looks great, best l have found. Only thing is you have to remember to hand wash and if this is done the sweater should last a lifetime.
Date published: 2020-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good old yarn to come back to This yarn is a great standby for all things comforting and fun! Felted hats, bags, and if you want to work on your stitches - this yarn will stand up.
Date published: 2020-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile and beautiful I love this yarn, I love the colors and the texture. It knits up nicely and has made me beautiful hats and scarves. Currently experimenting with felting it!
Date published: 2020-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best crocheting wool ever I love crocheting blankets with this wool!!! The Fishermen's wool is the only way to go for wool yarn.
Date published: 2020-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from First felting projects I made 14 pairs of felted slippers with this yarn. The different colors don’t all felt the same way. Oatmeal, birch tweed and heather brown are pretty close to the same consistency. Natural is looser and oak tweed and nature brown are tighter.
Date published: 2020-01-07
  • y_2024, m_7, d_14, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_116
  • loc_en_US, sid_prd2701, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_joann