Lion Brand Hometown Super Bulky Acrylic Yarn

by Lion Brand |

Item # 2108959
Lion Brand Hometown Super Bulky Acrylic Yarn is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 492.
  • y_2024, m_2, d_24, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_15, tr_477
  • loc_en_US, sid_zprd_02108959a, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_joann
Discounted Price $4.87 Old Price $6.49 ea.

You save $1.62

  • 25% Off Entire Stock Lion Brand Yarns

  • 10% off your total order of $75+ | Free Shipping over $75 when you use code:

How To Get It
Lion Brand City Skyline Pillow
This item is part of the Lion Brand City Skyline Pillow
Simplify all your crafting projects with the easy care Lion Brand Hometown Yarn. This chunky hometown yarn is ideal for a variety of needlework like home crafts, sports projects and more. Enrich your knitting and crochet experience with this soft textured yarn that gives you the perfect holiday craft to create beautiful garments, afghans and throws.
  • Brand: Lion Brand
  • Weight category: 6
  • Solids Composition:100% Acrylic
  • Multi-colored Composition: 100% Acrylic
  • Tweeds Composition : 94% Acrylic & 6% Rayon
  • Solids Weight: 5 oz , 81 yds
  • Neons Weight: 4 oz, 64 yds
  • Multi-colored Weight: 4 oz, 64 yd
  • Tweeds Weight: 4 oz, 64 yds
  • Knit Gauge: 4 in = 9 stitches on size 13 needles
  • Recommended Crochet Hook Size: N13
  • Care: Machine wash in cold water (maximum tempurature 86°F/30°C) & Tumble dry, Do not bleach or iron, Dry clean
  • Made in USA

CURBSIDE & IN-STORE PICK-UP

Skip the shipping! It's Free! Place your order by 3pm (local time) and pick up your order either at curbside or in-store same day.   LEARN MORE
 

SHIPPING

Most items typically ship within 1-3 business days, you'll receive an email with tracking information as soon as that happens! You can usually expect delivery within 6-10 business days, after you place your order, depending on destination.   LEARN MORE


RETURNS

We want you to be completely satisfied, so we are happy to accept returns for most online purchases in-stores for free or by mail, minus a $7.95 shipping and handling fee. Sewing Machines (all brands) & Craft Tech Machines (all brands) require a $25 restocking fee if returned by the customer. For policy exclusions, including electronics, please review our RETURN POLICY.

  
#HANDMADEWITHJOANN

#HANDMADEWITHJOANN

SHOW US WHAT YOU MADE SHOW US WHAT YOU MADE
Write a product review for a chance to
WIN A $100 JOANN GIFT CARD!

WIN A $100 JOANN GIFT CARD!

Valid 2/1 - 2/29 for U.S. orders only
TERMS & CONDITIONS
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Used yarn? Bought 3-1appears to have been torn open, rewrapped & is taped shut. Yarn not tightly & part hanging out. Appears to have been opened, used, & returned. Very disappointed with the service on this purchase. I believe I am owed a skein of yarn.
Date published: 2023-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice This yarn works up super soft. I will definitely buy again BUT the difference between the dye lots are substantial. I had originally purchased 2 skeins of Chicago Charcoal at another store, and then purchased more at Joanns, unfortunately without checking the dye lot. The color and texture were so different (1st purchase - slightly coarser dark grey, 2nd purchase - extremely soft, slightly lighter grey) that I cannot use them for the same project. This is my fault, though, as I know dye lots DO matter. But just wanted to warn anyone who forgets this :)
Date published: 2023-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very soft yarn Very soft yarn especially for acrylic yarn it comes undone a little at the ends but that’s just because it’s chunky yarn. Really good color selection.
Date published: 2023-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Getting more soon Made my mom a sausage dog and I’m in love with this yarn
Date published: 2023-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Phoenix Azalea I have used the yarn to make a crochet sausage dog and I love it
Date published: 2023-09-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Portland Wine misleading picture The picture of the Portland Wine yarn on the website looks like there are some bluish and reddish color dimensions to the yarn. The yarn is actually a 100% purple color and not at all like the picture here.
Date published: 2023-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This yarn is a great yarn for chunky crochet projects. THIS YARN IS AWSOME!!!!!!! I bought this yarn in store and it has a great texture! When crocheted with it is very smooth and easy to work with. I made a table centerpiece with it and it looks great. Totally recommend! Will buy this again!
Date published: 2023-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My go to yarn for most projects. This is my most reached for yarn to make various types of projects. I like the large variety of colors and how easy it is to work with. I use this for knitting, crochet and for general crafting.
Date published: 2023-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So soft and chunky LOVE this yarn! I’m back to buy more!
Date published: 2023-03-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very hard to work with I bought this yarn to crochet a unicorn for a friend. The yarn is spun very loosely, making it extremely easy to split. I've made this same project with other yarns in the past, and this was the only time I've dreaded picking up my hooks to work on it. It takes much longer to crochet with because of how often/easily it spits.
Date published: 2023-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes a great thick crocheted blanket Yarn used: Aspen and Riverdale Tweed, and Cocoa Beach Blanket: Granite Stitch Border: Leaf Stitch Size (approx): 7'L x 5.5'W This yarn was great to work with when making this blanket for my Father. It works up faster than the lesser weight yarn and is soft. The tweed sheds some, but that doesn't bother me. FYI that it was more expensive using the tweed yarn as it doesn't come with the yardage the others do.
Date published: 2023-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great color scheme, silky soft, inconsistent yardage The only con is that when purchasing these from Joann (at least online) you have no idea the yardage that will come in your skein. CHECK THE DESCRIPTION to see what yardage you'll get according to your color yarn! However for me, even then it's not clear because online the types aren't specified. I thought 'Catskills Corner' was a solid with 81 yds but it only had 64 yds. That being said, I adore this yarn. It is so silky and smooth to the touch, ideal for scarves and cardigans against your skin. I usually make patchwork cardigans with this yarn because of this, but I have to contend that it will pill (not as bad as others however, and I've accepted the fact that pilling comes with soft and chunky yarns). Because the yarn is 4-ply it is prone to splitting, but nothing bad. I use an 8mm hook instead of 9mm because it's a little thinner on the side of 6 weight yarns. Otherwise, color variety is great and I'll never stop trying out different ones!
Date published: 2023-01-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the best I bought this to make a blanket because of the vibrant colors, but I have found that it is not the highest quality yarn ... I guess I should have known that for the price point but STILL, the yarn is spun in a very sketchy/loose way that makes it incredibly easy to split. It is very clearly a synthetic yarn and weirdly bulky.
Date published: 2022-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed Lion brand is my go to yarns for a lot of projects. It is stretchy, soft and knits up well. It has a nice palette and it is a bargain.
Date published: 2022-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty nice I liked this yarn a lot it’s pretty soft and isn’t scratchy but the one thing I didn’t like is that the layers of yarn came apart really easily other than that great product
Date published: 2022-04-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NOT MADE IN USA AS LISTED IN DESCRIPTION This is incorrectly labeled online as the package says Made in Turkey. Also, the yarn is much smaller and the olive is more like a gold greenish than when I bought it when I used to crochet a few years ago.
Date published: 2021-11-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Got fuzzy very fast Just leaving this review to save someone else some time. I crocheted a hat and neck warmer, and I need to remove fuzz often to wear them. Nice soft yarn, but..... I've only washed it by hand, then rolled it in a towel and laid it flat to dry.
Date published: 2021-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft an cozy I positively love this yarn for a quick and easy cozy afghan. Its fun to crochet and i upped the hook size to a 'P'. Only problem i encountered was hiding the joining ends of the next skein because it fluffs. If anyone has a suggestion I'd love to have you share it. I definately will buy this yarn again.
Date published: 2021-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and gorgeous I made a basket with this yarn using Washington Denim and Aspen Tweed and it came out AMAZING. It is a very soft, easy to work with yarn and I ran into zero defects. Given how well it worked up, variety of colors, and the softness I'll definitely be making a blanket with this as well!
Date published: 2021-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing yarn! The colours are very vibrant and have a lovely shine. I couldn’t be happier with the end product.
Date published: 2021-08-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Something is different I bought the Los Angeles Tan a month ago. It doesn't look or feel the same. The first skeins I received were soft and silky. This batch is not as nice and looks and feels different. It doesn't have a shine like the previous yarn I received.
Date published: 2021-05-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from chincy yarn now I have been buying this year for a year now but the last few orders I have received, the yarn has been extremly poor quality and frays and lots of fibers come off the yarn. Sad :-( will need to shop for another brand.
Date published: 2021-05-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Shedding shedding shedding Love the softness. Love the weight. Perfect for a nice winter Afghan. HATE the yarn dustballs all over my floor. The yarn lint on my clothes and although I loved working with it, I think it’s the last time
Date published: 2021-04-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Shade change I bought the shade providence pink about three weeks ago. I used and and ended up needing more. Not even less than a week later I ordered more in the exact same shade of providence pink, and I see it’s noticeably different than the first yarn. How can it be called the same shade yet be different?? Not pleased.
Date published: 2021-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from so soft! so lovely and soft and warm! I am a beginner but starting with this yarn I may be in for a yarn addiction to go along with my fabric addiction...
Date published: 2021-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yarn color is different in person Bought Sleepy Hollow Spirit to make a light blue blanket, but the yarn I received is mostly gray.
Date published: 2021-02-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Don't know what to do know now. What am I suppose to do when I get 2 different dye lots on the same order. Totally 2 different colors. Shouldn't someone know that we need those to match???????????????
Date published: 2021-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Be careful - some are 5 oz. & some are 4 oz. The colors that I got in 5 oz. balls are soft & fluffy feeling. (Portland Wine was a 5 oz.) The 4 oz. (Sleepy Hollow Spirit) was slightly less soft. I recomend the 5 oz. colors but unfortunately the difference is not noted in this product listing. Maybe check the brand site first.
Date published: 2020-11-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Short skeins and a pain to work with Bought this because the colors were perfect for my project (and they are beautiful). However, I've made the same afghan many times with the same weight of yarn, and have never had a problem until using this. I was using 3 skeins at a time and one would ran out WAY before the others. Not even close. I was running through yarn much too quickly I measured 2 skeins. All 22 skeins I purchased said 81 yards. The 2 I measured were 66 and 59. I ran out of yard about 3/4 through my project. Also, the yard was knotted and the fibers catch each other so it was a pain to work with. Won't buy this yard again.
Date published: 2020-11-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from HORRIBLE YARN Not true to colors shown online. Looked black its blue gray. Frays easily and is a nightmare to work with. Returning to the store as soon as possible. Will never buy yarn online again.
Date published: 2020-11-23
  • y_2024, m_2, d_24, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_15, tr_477
  • loc_en_US, sid_zprd_02108959a, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_joann