Silvalume Aluminum Crochet Hook Set Sizes F5 To K10.5

by Susan Bates |

Item # 2381911
Silvalume Aluminum Crochet Hook Set Sizes F5 To K10.5 is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 82.
  • y_2024, m_7, d_25, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_80
  • loc_en_US, sid_2381911, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_joann
Discounted Price $12.99 ea.
  • 10% off your order of $85+, 15% off $100+, or 20% off $150+ | Free Shipping over $75 when you use code:

Buy more save more

Quantity
1 - 9
Price
$12.99 ea.
Discount
10
$11.69 ea.
10%
How To Get It
This item is part of the
Crochet lovely apparel for your loved ones with the Susan Bates Silvalume Crochet Hook Set in Pouch. Featuring crochet hooks in various sizes, you can experiment with different crocheting techniques. These hooks are made of durable aluminum and are polished to perfection for wonderful smoothness. Easy-to-work with, crochet threads and yarns pass easily through the surface to create fine patterns. Make wonderful mittens, booties and blankets for your little one using this crochet hook set.
  • Available in a variety of sizes
  • Composition: Aluminum
  • Ideal for all crochet projects
  • Sizes: F-5 to K-10.5

CURBSIDE & IN-STORE PICK-UP

Skip the shipping! It's Free! Place your order by 3pm (local time) and pick up your order either at curbside or in-store same day.   LEARN MORE
 

SHIPPING

Most items typically ship within 1-3 business days, you'll receive an email with tracking information as soon as that happens! You can usually expect delivery within 6-10 business days, after you place your order, depending on destination.   LEARN MORE


RETURNS

We want you to be completely satisfied, so we are happy to accept returns for most online purchases in-stores for free or by mail, minus a $7.95 shipping and handling fee. Sewing Machines (all brands) & Craft Tech Machines (all brands) require a $25 restocking fee if returned by the customer. For policy exclusions, including electronics, please review our RETURN POLICY.

  

Just For You

You may also like

Frequently Bought Together

Just For You

Frequently Bought Together

Best Sellers

Shop JOANN's Top Selling Products
#HANDMADEWITHJOANN

#HANDMADEWITHJOANN

SHOW US WHAT YOU MADE SHOW US WHAT YOU MADE
Write a product review for a chance to
WIN A $100 JOANN GIFT CARD!

WIN A $100 JOANN GIFT CARD!

Valid 7/1 - 7/31 for U.S. orders only
TERMS & CONDITIONS
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Love the hook and how easy it is to crochet with it.
Date published: 2015-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect set Just started crocheting again after many years. This set of crochet hooks gives me all the sizes needed to make anything I tackle. Love the feel of the smooth metal and don't have to worry these will ever break.
Date published: 2015-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The ONLY brand hook I'll use! What more can I say? There is something about the tip of the hook that just makes it glide through the yarn. Unlike most other hooks that have blunt ends, Susan Bates hooks have a slight point at the tip. I'm teaching a friend of mine to crochet and until I bought her this set, she would struggle with her donated hooks and the yarn would just split and she had a heck of a time finishing the stitches. All good now. And she loves these hooks, too.
Date published: 2015-04-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stupid don't get. It is terrible and horrible. Save your money.
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE ONE AND ONLY I learned to crochet as a child -- then caught fire with it as an adult and have been an avid crocheter for about 10 years now -- the ONLY crochet hook I will use is SUSAN BATES - it's comfortable in my hand and the design of the hook itself is just perfect! (it's hard to put into words, but if you use another hook and then use the Susan Bates you will instantly see what I mean!)
Date published: 2014-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bates Silvalume Crochet Hook I am now trying to learn the art of crochet. I had, in the past, cheaper plastic hooks (like the one that comes in the instructional kit) and the yarn would easily slip off/out of the hook to the point I would get frustrated and give up learning. I purchased these hooks and what a world of difference. The aluminum glides through the yarn very easy. The depth of the hook itself makes it much easier to catch and hold the yarn as you are pulling it through to make the stitch. I am now getting the hang of it and really enjoy the simple project I have started.
Date published: 2014-06-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from These hooks are garbage. These hooks are garbage....they cut yarn like scissors. They are so sharp and rough. Waste of money. DO NOT BUY EVER!!!!
Date published: 2014-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Susan Bates Crochet Hooks I took up crocheting when I was a very young teen and failed miserably (I used the classic universally sold Boyle hooks). I am now 49 and decided to give it another try since my daughter has taken up knitting. Susan Bates hooks have made all the difference in the world! I CAN do this, rather well actually. They are smooth and do not snag yarn of any kind. The Best!!
Date published: 2013-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No comparison! I can't recommend Susan Bates crochet hooks highly enough. I taught myself to crochet about 30 years ago and, like any beginner, thought all hooks were the same and wondered why I was so clumsy at it! What a difference these hooks made. Since I crochet "underhand," the way these hooks fit my hand is far superior to other brands, and I think it's because the finger-flat is closer to the hook-end -- it makes a huge difference in hand fatigue. Plus the hooks are silky smooth, gliding effortlessly through every yarn I've ever used. Simple tools, beautifully engineered.
Date published: 2013-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only hooks you should use! I've been crocheting for about 17 years. I was taught using Boyle hooks, but the design of those makes it so hard to crochet quickly, always snagging the yarn. I started using Susan Bates not long after learning how to crochet and I will NEVER use any other brand.
Date published: 2010-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Slides Through Yarn Like Butter! I learned to crochet on Boye hooks, many years ago. I still have one Boye hook I bought years ago. So when I began to crochet again, I bought a set of Boye hooks. Big mistake! I think Boye hooks have declined in quality - they snag and give me inconsistent gauge, resulting in uneven stitches. So I decided to try a different brand, and got a set of these Susan Bates hooks. These are awesome! They pull through the yarn so smoothly, and there's never any snagging or splitting. I'm really glad I tried these.
Date published: 2009-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hooked Already I'm a beginner crocheter and bought a Susan Bates aluminum hook on a whim and I'm so glad I did! I've tried a couple other hooks, but nothing seems to match up to SB aluminum. The hook is well crafted to fit comfortably in the hand, it grabs the yarn well and pulls through stitches and loops effortlessly and smoothly. The top of the hook is fashioned to a subtle rounded, point so driving through a series of stitches, etc is no sweat. I'm surprised at the speed I'm gaining with these hooks, too, even just beginning. I'm also a knitter and it took me so long to obtain skill and speed, but starting out with the SB aluminum hooks for crochet was a brilliant discovery. Now I know what hooks to get for future projects! I'm so excitd. :)
Date published: 2009-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful First I tried the Susan Bates plastic hooks, but 2 broke, so I bought the aluminum Boye hooks. Yuk! I had enjoyed the plastic Susan Bates hooks as far as use, but they just didn't hold up. The Boye seemed to stick in the middle of each stitch, so I could only pull the yarn through one loop on the hook at a time. This doubled my time in getting my projects done. Today I bought the aluminum Susan Bates hooks, and I can already tell they are just as great for use as the plastic ones (actually better because they don't bend) and are obviously durable. Now I can pull the yarn through all hooks on with one stroke. What a pleasure. They are comfortable in my hand, balanced, sturdy, and smooth. They would be worth it at triple the price.
Date published: 2009-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use these to teach crochet I always give crochet lessons at my daughter's elementary school in the winter during lunch recess. I will only let the kids start out with these crochet hooks. I like them so much, I buy each child their own hook to keep. They glide through the work so easily. They don't get caught or tangled like other brands do. The aluminum are the best. I've tried many other crochet hook brands and none compare to Susan Bates. Happy crocheting!
Date published: 2009-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wouldn't Use Anything Else Like many other reviewers I have found these hooks to be the best I have ever used. I have been crocheting for 39 years and plastic, bamboo, wood nor any other brand of metal hook has surpassed this product terms of comfort, maneuverability, and overall quality. I own two complete sets and would be lost without them. Do not hesitate to buy them.
Date published: 2008-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Susan Bates crochet needles I've been crocheting for 38 years. I've used every kind of crohook invented. I purchased one Susan Bates cro. hook and I'm hook. SB cro. hooks are SUPERIOR. There is not a product out there to compare them with. I own every hook they ever made. I am a fast crocheter, I love, that the yarn slides with ease, regardless of the yarn used. The hook does not split the yarn eek! The tumb and pointing finger rest ever so gently on the flat surface. Therefore your fingers never tire. Susan Bates crochet hooks are the only crochet hooks I recommend, to experianced or beginners and they love them. Susan Bates crochet hooks are just an exceptonal product. Thank you for creating such an excellant product.
Date published: 2008-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best by far i actually purchased the set i have when i was 17. i am now 42. the color on some of my hooks have faded but they are still in very good condition. i tried using other brands, but don't like how they feel in my hands. i will stick with susan bates 4ever!!
Date published: 2008-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hooks as far as material and design Like many other reviewers I agree these are simply the best hooks. I bought the Susan Bates book "My Crochet Teacher" and these came with it. I've taught myself to crochet easily and have made several baby blankets that look surprisingly great! Recently I needed a large hook (size N) and bought the susan bates crystalites and hated them as they didn't glide like these. Then I bought a Boye that looked similar to the Bates. Let me tell you no comparison! I am so thankful that the first set I bought was SB otherwise I probably would've given up. The Boye hook was horrible. Snagged the yarn and was just plain hard to pull through stitches. I am thinking about trying the crystalites again as at least they are shaped the right way.
Date published: 2008-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Susan Bates makes the best crochet hook. The flat hook helps to keep your pull through yarn in place and you don't split yarn, like you are prone to do with another hook.
Date published: 2008-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value If you knit you should always have a crochet hook or two ready to fix simple problems or to add some cool designs to your knitting project. This a great value and with six hooks I can learn how to crochet now as well. I'm very pleased with these as these will help me also make pretty patterns to go with my afgans.
Date published: 2007-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best crochet hooks ever I inherited a bunch of crochet hooks from my grandmother, mostly Boye and Susan Bates. As the other reviewers have mentioned, I became thoroughly disgusted with Boye hooks due to the large head and the rounded off hook. It was hard to pierce tight stitches and the yarn would constantly slide off. The SB hooks, however, have a slight point at the tip, the hooks don't stick out, and the "tooth" edge of the hook has a nice angled edge that makes it SO much easier to work the yarn. I will never go back!
Date published: 2007-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great hooks Love Susan Bates alumnimum hooks. Bought them piecemeal; would have bought a set if I'd known how great they were beforehand. Their shape at the end--the actual "hook" part doesn't just out--lets me effortlessly work the stitches. Other kinds (Boye, for example) have hooks that jut out beyond the circumference of the shaft, and thus get caught unless you carefully twist them. Now I won't crochet with anything else. I wish these came in larger sizes, too...
Date published: 2006-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best hooks available. I wish these were available in large sizes. I don't like the plastic hooks. They don't slide well through the yarn/thread.
Date published: 2006-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are the best! I have been crocheting since I was twelve years old. When I first started to teach myself I used the Boye hooks. I became totally frustrated because the yarn would not stay on the hook when I pulled it through the loop and I gave up. A few years later I tried again - I had lost the Boye hooks and bought the Susan Bates hooks - I had no problems crocheting and it began my forty year love affair with the craft. They are simply the best hooks available!
Date published: 2006-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superior in every way! I've tried every kind of hook I've met, trying to find something that compares to Susan Bates. Even the most expensive kinds didn't hold a candle to these. They're inexpensive and perfect, you just can't beat their price or their perfectly streamlined shape. Every type of yarn slides beautifully over the hook and creates nice, even work. Love, love, love them!!!
Date published: 2006-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from There nothing better I started crocheting with the hook almost everyone starts with, a Boye aluminum hook. A friend of mine let me use hers and ever since then I cannot pick up another Boye hook. If I can't find a needle I go directly to Hobby Lobby to buy a replacement, even though I have the same size in a Boye right there. I refuse to use any other hook. They are wondeful... Almost never snags or separates the yarn, and goes through so easily. LOVE THEM!
Date published: 2006-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from can't believe i tried others I actually thought Boye was best, until I tried these. I can't believe how smoothly crocheting goes on a Bates hook. I love the broad, flat throat, which is what makes it so good.
Date published: 2006-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Susan Bates is best I began crocheting again after an almost 20 year gap. I learned from my grandmother when I was 10 and she gave me a couple of Susan Bates hooks that I still have. I bought some others and like many other reviewers didn't understand why I was having problems. I got this set last night after reading the other reviews, along with one of the larger size plastic hooks and began using it - WHAT A DIFFERENCE! I'm never using any other brand again! The yarn just moves so smoothly.
Date published: 2006-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I guess I never thought about it before Mom taught me how to crochet when I was about eight years old. Of course, it was with a Susan Bates hook. I've recently taken up crocheting again after a break of more than fifteen years. When I was in my local JoAnn store shopping for my supplies I automatically grabbed the Susan Bates hooks. I wouldn't even consider using anything else.
Date published: 2006-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Susan Bates Hooks I've used Susan Bates since I was 11 years old. My mother told me these were the best. I mistakenly bought broyles when I was still young not paying andy attention to my purchase and I couldn't believe the trouble I had. I'm now a 29 year exp. crocheter. I was teaching a friend to crochet who was struggling a great deal to learn. She was so frustrated she was giving up. I then noticed she was using broyle hooks. I let her try my susan bates and she went out the next day and bought Susan Bate hooks. She couldn't believe how much easier it was using Susan Bates. I only recommend Susan Bate hooks.
Date published: 2006-02-19
  • y_2024, m_7, d_25, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_80
  • loc_en_US, sid_2381911, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_joann