Bernat Blanket Extra Thick 72yds Jumbo Polyester Yarn

by Bernat |

Item # 18348714
Bernat Blanket Extra Thick 72yds Jumbo Polyester Yarn is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 74.
  • y_2024, m_5, d_28, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_72
  • loc_en_US, sid_zprd_18348656a, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_joann
Discounted Price $23.99 ea.
  • 10% off your order of $85+, 15% off $100+, or 20% off $150+ | Free Shipping over $75 when you use code:

How To Get It

Bernat Extra Thick yarn gets your project from start to finish extra fast. Your favorite chenille-style Bernat Blanket yarn now has even more to love. The jumbo weight comes in a generously sized ball so each one goes a long, long way. Use Bernat Blanket Extra Thick to stitch up washable, squishable, comfortable projects that are done before you know it.

  • Extra Extra! Bernat Blanket Extra Thick makes big beautiful projects in no time! Your favorite chenille-style blanket yarn in a bigger, chunkier format with the same easy care and the same squishable softness.
  • 7 - JUMBO
  • 600gr
  • 100% Polyester
  • 72 yards
  • Recommended hook size is a US U (25mm) 2.5Cx2R for a 4" swatch
  • The recommended knitting needle is size 50 2.5STx3.5R for a 4" swatch.

CURBSIDE & IN-STORE PICK-UP

Skip the shipping! It's Free! Place your order by 3pm (local time) and pick up your order either at curbside or in-store same day.   LEARN MORE
 

SHIPPING

Most items typically ship within 1-3 business days, you'll receive an email with tracking information as soon as that happens! You can usually expect delivery within 6-10 business days, after you place your order, depending on destination.   LEARN MORE


RETURNS

We want you to be completely satisfied, so we are happy to accept returns for most online purchases in-stores for free or by mail, minus a $7.95 shipping and handling fee. Sewing Machines (all brands) & Craft Tech Machines (all brands) require a $25 restocking fee if returned by the customer. For policy exclusions, including electronics, please review our RETURN POLICY.

  

Just For You

You may also like

Frequently Bought Together

Just For You

Frequently Bought Together

Best Sellers

Shop JOANN's Top Selling Products
#HANDMADEWITHJOANN

#HANDMADEWITHJOANN

SHOW US WHAT YOU MADE SHOW US WHAT YOU MADE
Write a product review for a chance to
WIN A $100 JOANN GIFT CARD!

WIN A $100 JOANN GIFT CARD!

Valid 5/1 - 5/31 for U.S. orders only
TERMS & CONDITIONS
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this! I use the all the time and have started selling hand knitted blankets using this yarn! I use 5 for a blanket which usually turns out to be around 60” by 70”. All the colors turn out great no matter what, but some of my personal favorite are the Clay Caramel, Forest Medley, and Dark Navy.
Date published: 2024-03-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Online ordering is an absolute disgrace and frustration! I ordered 4 skeins of yarn. The order went through no problem. Then about 3 days later I get an email that part if my order wascancelled. Then what was left of the order got split up. Then when one part was about to be delivered I received an email saying it was delivered. It wasn't. The order showed up 4 days later with no notice. The other half of the order took another 10 days. It's good I don't actually run a business that depends on accurate and timely deliveries. Joann would NOT be my supplier. I will never use Joann again.
Date published: 2024-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ignorance I purchased this yarn online and my husband went to pick it Up. When he arrived at the store The customer representative at the register was very rude told him who cares that he drove an hour to pick up the order. She had 40 more minutes before she had to fill the order and even if she attempted to fill it, she wasn’t sure that the yarn was even there 25 minutes after my husband was told to leave the store and come back another day I received my order was canceled. Joannes fabrics is becoming swiftly the worst place to order any products from I will be contacting your inspirations and letting them know who Joann fabrics really is.
Date published: 2024-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cozy!! I needed extra skeins to complete a current hand knitting throw. Very excited that my purchase has arrive. Will post pic once completed
Date published: 2024-02-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from dont bother using the pattern on the label on the label of each ball it has the picture of the pattern that's on the back, and the number of balls needed to crochet said pattern. the yarn itself is full of joins, at least four in every ball. that's not my concern though. my concern is with the pattern on the label. the pattern does not work out as stated. i have no idea if its a typo or what but it says 3 balls, which is nowhere near enough if you follow the number of stitches in the pattern. chaining 110 and having 108 stitches total does not make a throw blanket with 3 balls of this yarn, it makes a very long giant scarf. ive had to undo it twice now trying to make it turn into the measurements the pattern says and it doesnt work.
Date published: 2024-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So soft I bought this yarn to make a chunky knit blanket and absolutely love it. It is just so soft and easy to knit with
Date published: 2024-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good choice for super jumbo yarn! Yeah it's not flawless yarn. It does have joins. It's polyester. It won't really "pop" in terms of cabling, etc. Don't buy it expecting to make an heirloom blanket. But also. Way better option than some of the roving style "yarns" that are out there. It's great for a beginner project, or a novelty project. It knits up quick. It looks adorable. It's super soft. Machine washable. I've found the given gauge to be spot on. I got 4 skeins for a blanket, which is enough for a throw with a simple stitch, but as a person who likes blankets on the bigger side, and for more flexibility, I would have preferred 5 or 6.
Date published: 2024-01-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too many knots in yarn I bought the suggested 4 of these zBlanket extra thick to make an afghan. The first ball had a knot in it. The second ball had a knot in it. The third ball had two knots in it, and I will not use the last ball. I knew I would have knots in it as I would need to join the yarn of the different balls. I was not prepared for 7 joins! It’s not cheap to use this yarn for an afghan and with all these joins, I am not sure how they will last with use
Date published: 2024-01-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bought at store I do not recommend it it’s snaps so easily and unravels easily i really wanted a chunky yarn this is not it i was mid way with my project i need to finish it i have to use the same yarn and also it takes up a lot of yarn it’s to dense not fluffy please chose a different yarn.
Date published: 2024-01-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Will never purchase from Joann again I ordered over $400.00 worth of this yarn open 1/2/24, I just recv'd a notification yesterday, they are canceling one skein, today I receive a shipping notification, FOR ONE SKEIN ONLY! The rest is "still waiting to ship". I saw the other reviews and was reluctant but unfortunately, I cannot find this extra thick at another store, so I reluctantly I ordered. Very disappointed. Hoping the yarn is worth it, but this is my first and last order with Joann.
Date published: 2024-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely LOVE it Soft and easy to work with. Plus I don't have to worry when changing out because it's like 3 reg ones...
Date published: 2023-12-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cancelled order I have tried ordering yarn to finish my project twice now in the last 2 months. And both times have been cancelled. The second time I tried reordering, I placed my order less than an hour of being notified of its restock, and it still got cancelled even with how quickly I tried to reorder. Really disappointed with their online ordering. If you can't fulfill orders, then it should not be listed as in stock on the website. Its also not available in any neighboring store locations so pickup is not an option. Hoping these get restocked again soon so we can all finish our projects! Joann's online ordering has definitely gone down hill these past few years. I always seem to have issues submitting orders and using gift cards.
Date published: 2023-12-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Yarn, but if you can’t get it to the buyers, don’t advertise it like you can The 72 yard option and new colors are fantastic! I have been using this yard for years now and appreciate a little reprieve in the pricing/quantity; However, Joanne’s is advertising that it’s available and when you go to purchase it, it’s not in the stores, it says limited availability and you can’t order it to be shipped to your home or a local store for pickup. So if you don’t have it and it’s out of stock to even Joanne’s, take it off the website until you can distribute it to the general public.
Date published: 2023-12-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Seriously Disappointed Have yet to receive yarn ordered on Nov. 30. Today is Dec. 24th.
Date published: 2023-12-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Company Lied Would be better if they would send everything I ordered. They have sent 2 tracking numbers for parts of my order, between both shipments it leaves 1 skein out. The app shows everything has been shipped and they have not given me any information for it. On top of the issue this order was on the 2nd. I can't finish my gift as is since the local store cannot even get stock in.
Date published: 2023-12-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DIRTY! I bought this yarn at JoAnn's online and did store pick up, it is the color Ice. Well when I went to use it, it was so pretty and I loved it, until I got into the skein more and more and there were dirt spots all through it, even in the very middle and I was already done half a blanket, hoping it will wash out in a delicate wash. So frustrating. Pulled out the second skein of this same color and same thing! Half way through adding it to a blanket and it was all dirty and dingy on the inside of the skein. Normally I LOVE this yarn and JoAnn's but this time it was a total waste of my money.
Date published: 2023-12-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Delivered I ordered the yarn on Nov. 30. It is Dec. 18 and I have not received it.
Date published: 2023-12-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Yarn I ordered 6 Bernat chunky yarn and only received one. I needed them for Xmas gifts. Other than that I really love their yarn.
Date published: 2023-12-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not my complete order? I ordered 3 in this color and I have only received 2. This yarn has taken over a month to receive???
Date published: 2023-12-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Online order still processing!! I ordered this yarn over 10 days ago and it still says processing. Part of my order was cancelled and you can’t cancel your order all together according to Joann’s website. Very frustrating as I’m trying to complete a Christmas project with this yarn. I tried to place a pick up order for the store and part of that order was cancelled because what it says online is not what they have in stock in store! Joann’s you really need to do better… As for the yarn goes, I have actually made a blanket with it and it’s beautiful. It is very heavy and for a medium sized throw I needed 6 skeins. Each skein has multiple knots tying the yarn together throughout. I could easily hide them with the pattern I was doing but it will not be easily hidden for other patterns. Still would recommend the yarn.
Date published: 2023-12-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Love the yarn but what is wrong with this company I have purchased this type of yarn many times to make blankets for presents. This year I’m having trouble finding certain ones and based on other reviews I don’t want to order online with how long it’s going to take. I saw that a store near me had the yarn I needed in stock so I placed an order online for pickup. An hour later I get an email saying that they are canceling my order. I decided to check another store and it shows they have 8 in stock. I place another online order and again it is canceled by the store. It’s disappointing that the stores can’t get a better handle on their inventory. On top of all of this my bank account was still charged for both canceled orders. It’s been a couple days and the charges still show on there. The email I got saying they were cancelling my order says that I won’t be charged for the orders.
Date published: 2023-12-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Online ordering Ordered on the 5th. It is now the 13th and it is still in processing mode. When ordered, it stated that they had stock. No way I will receive it in time to make something for a christmas gift.
Date published: 2023-12-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Never again... cheap look and texture, yet super expensive to buy I am a huge fan of the regular Bernat blanket yarn, so I thought I'd try the Extra Thick to see if I could complete projects even faster. However, I didn't like the way this yarn looked or the way it my project worked up. I was making a throw blanket (with Vapor Gray)- and when finished it looked kind of dreary and old, like it had been washed too many times. The texture of the yarn feels cheap, and the skeins don't go very far. A throw blanket would have taken about 14 skeins- way too expensive. I will never work with this product again.
Date published: 2023-12-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed I bought several skein online and they are taking forever to ship. It’s ridiculous how long it’s taking. I called the number and they representative didn’t even know when my order would ship or how long it would take once it does actually ship. When I go to the store it is in total shambles and the employees have no idea about product availability in the store. The yarn is tossed all over the place. So disappointed with this company.
Date published: 2023-12-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 15 days and still waiting I’m not one for reviews but I’ve tried emailing three different times with no response and I ordered over 15 days ago with no update as to when I will be receiving my order. I know it will make a beautiful blanket…if I ever receive it.
Date published: 2023-12-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Never Received I am still waiting the rest of my order !!! Yoo hoo !!!
Date published: 2023-12-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not soft and fluffy This is not soft and fluffy like the yarn bee or mainstay brands, disappointed
Date published: 2023-12-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Shipping takes way too long! Ordered online 8 days ago and tracking still shows processing. Unfortunately, what I needed was out of stock in store and had to order online. Shipping takes way too long! Don’t order if you need something anytime soon! I won’t ever be ordering anything from the website again.
Date published: 2023-12-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Order cancelled My order was cancelled by Joann’s no rhyme or reason , extremely dissatisfied
Date published: 2023-12-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Angry ! I still have not received my order ! Over 15 days and nothing!!!!
Date published: 2023-12-02
  • y_2024, m_5, d_28, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_72
  • loc_en_US, sid_zprd_18348656a, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_joann