Sew Classics Silky Silkessence Fabric Solid

Item # 1446244
Sew Classics Silky Silkessence Fabric Solid is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 73.
  • y_2024, m_2, d_22, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_70
  • loc_en_US, sid_prd7633, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_joann
Discounted Price $3.90 Old Price $12.99 yd.

You save $9.09

  • 70% off Clearance

    Clearance

How To Get It
Introducing the Sew Classics Silky Silkessence Fabric Solid, your ultimate choice for creating sophisticated apparels with an edge. Tailored specifically for top-tier tops, dresses, and skirts, it brings out an unmatched drape and aesthetic akin to premium charmeuse, chiffon, and rayon. Boasting durable synthetic fibers, it promises longevity while retaining vivid colors. The silky shimmer coupled with its lightweight nature ensures every outfit stands out. Whether you're designing everyday wear or crafting an ensemble for a special occasion, pairing it with decorative materials like lace, net, and trims will amplify its elegance. Dive into a spectrum of solid colors and watch your designs come alive. Sold by the yard, this fabric is the perfect addition to every designer's collection.
  • Width: 41 inches
  • Content: 100% Polyester
  • Care: Machine wash in cold water on a delicate cycle, Tumble dry low, Use a cool iron if needed
  • Brand: Sew Classics
  • Theme: Solid
  • Sold by the yard
  • Type Silky Fabric
  • Project Types Apparel,Dresses
  • Bolt Size 10
  • Reorderable? No. Get it now while it’s available.

CURBSIDE & IN-STORE PICK-UP

Skip the shipping! It's Free! Place your order by 3pm (local time) and pick up your order either at curbside or in-store same day.   LEARN MORE
 

SHIPPING

Most items typically ship within 1-3 business days, you'll receive an email with tracking information as soon as that happens! You can usually expect delivery within 6-10 business days, after you place your order, depending on destination.   LEARN MORE


RETURNS

We want you to be completely satisfied, so we are happy to accept returns for most online purchases in-stores for free or by mail, minus a $7.95 shipping and handling fee. Sewing Machines (all brands) & Craft Tech Machines (all brands) require a $25 restocking fee if returned by the customer. For policy exclusions, including electronics, please review our RETURN POLICY.

  
#HANDMADEWITHJOANN

#HANDMADEWITHJOANN

SHOW US WHAT YOU MADE SHOW US WHAT YOU MADE
Write a product review for a chance to
WIN A $100 JOANN GIFT CARD!

WIN A $100 JOANN GIFT CARD!

Valid 2/1 - 2/29 for U.S. orders only
TERMS & CONDITIONS
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Olive Silk Essence I love using this fabric in several colors for different projects! I am out of Olive green and need some more, but it is out of stock currently. Please bring it back so I can get some :) Thanks!
Date published: 2020-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from queens robe used the red fabric to make a queens robe for a school play
Date published: 2020-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Silk material that will protect your hairstyle. I am using this material for the inside of bonnets. This silk material will protect the hair from breakage and keep your hairstyles in place.
Date published: 2019-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Silky Polyesters ... always a good choice I worked for Joann Fabrics in central Florida and this is one of my favorite fabrics! I fell in love with it in the late 1980s - it's just as lovely today as it was then - maybe a bit better now ...
Date published: 2019-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fabric, wonderful colors I've been buying this fabric for over 10 years and always happy with it- have all the colors available. I create fabric flowers- this fabric is very easy to work with and the flowers look gorgeous. Always get compliments how beautiful they are made of silkessence fabric. Will continue buying it as long as Joann's fabrics have it in their stock. Thank you!
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty! I haven't sewn this material yet but can't wait! The Royal is actually a beautiful blue and not a purple as it look the computer ( mine any way).
Date published: 2019-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Silkessence is great! I've been buying and sewing Silkessence for over fifteen years. It is one of my favorite fabrics. It has a lovely sheen; good selection of brilliant colors; no problem with wrinkles; it's amazingly easy to care for; and just looks great. I've used it for many projects in clothing and crafts and never seem to run out of a reason to buy more.
Date published: 2018-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect sheen and drape! I purchased this last minute for Christmas decorations for the church. I chose the color “camel” and it was PERFECT. Project needed about 12 yards and at this price, i couldnt pass it up. Thanks so much!!
Date published: 2017-12-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Soft but slippery I tried to make scarves with this fabric. Difficult task with small hems. Would not recommend for this purpose. Nice fabric overall.
Date published: 2017-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Material and I Loved It!!!! I purchased the Silkessence Fabric in several colors to make a feast dress for my liturgical praise dance team. We all loved the way the material flowed as we danced for the Lord.
Date published: 2017-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for beginners As the other reviews said, the ends to fray a LOT. But if your a beginner, and your just trying to make something, you should get this. It doesn't wrinkle, and it isn't hard to cut.
Date published: 2016-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I absolute looks even better in personl love this fabric.
Date published: 2016-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Art of Marbling on Silkessence Fabric I am an artist who specializes in the art of marbling on paper and fabric. I have been using silky solid silkessence fabric from JoAnn's for over 20 years for my art. The quality of this fabric, the variety of colors and it's affordability make it a wonderful product for my demonstrations, workshops and "make and take" opportunities. This is an addition to consistently being a great product for my framed collage pieces, covered journals and line of greeting cards.
Date published: 2016-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Silky Solids This fabric is wonderful! It washes and dries well, does not hold stains and does not wrinkle. It's easy to sew, and the colors remain vibrant. I have bought nearly every color and used it for a variety of garments and projects. The only problem is that it tends to fray, but serging takes care of that! I love it!
Date published: 2016-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to work with, looks "rich". I use this fabric in multiple colors to make designer quality fashion doll clothes. It drapes beautifully, has a lovely shimmer to it looks very high end.
Date published: 2016-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful fabric I purchased the pink shade two years ago for my informal wedding dress. My sister sewed the dress for me, and said the fabric was a pleasure to work with. The end result was a lovely, not too warm, dress that received many compliments.
Date published: 2015-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful fabric to use! I bought several colors of this fabric for a Moroccan-themed bedroom and I'm extremely happy with how manageable the fabric is. Easy to iron, nice amount of sheen, drapes well, and a great price. (I bought it during a hefty sale so I'm thrilled with the price to quality ratio.)
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am a Church Decorator, and the Silkessence Fabric is very easy to work with. It drapes easily, easy to hem, and the colors are vibrant.
Date published: 2015-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice fabric Bought this for a wedding guest dress. As previously mentioned, it does fray. I used Gingher pinking shears and had no problem.
Date published: 2015-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I was looking for! Just the right color and texture at a great price! I couldn't be happier!
Date published: 2015-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great investment! I bought this for our Holy Week event. We made dresses, instruments of praise... Loved it.
Date published: 2015-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 1,2,3 Go! Went to the store, found the material, went online and ordered what wasn't in-store, lickety-split order arrived, fabric exactly what I ordered -- could not have been more perfect.
Date published: 2015-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality The fabric has a beautiful texture on it with a shine ....got it for making fabric flowers ...
Date published: 2014-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Silk Essence Silkessence is a great fabric for many reasons. Along with the other reviewers, I am often disappointed with the frequency my favorite colors are discontinued. And I would like to see them carry more colors than they now offer. Is anyone listening?
Date published: 2014-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight AND Strong The multiple belly dance skirts I have made have never torn and always look brand new, even though we throw them into our dance bags at the end of practice & pull them out a week later. It is also strong. We have used our 3 yard veils to carry drums & things in to get from parking lot to performance event, stepped on them & jerked, performing in rain, etc. Amazingly strong for how lightweight they are.
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More wine! You used to have a color called "wine". It was perfect for my costuming projects. Now it's not available. So discouraging. Bring it back please!!
Date published: 2013-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from silkessence is tricky but a great value I have used this product to make dance costumes and have found that if you use Fray Check, it prevents fraying on the cut edges. I also serge the seams and use the rolled rolled edge hem of the serger to finish the hem. This way it does not fray and has a nice finished look that lasts through many wearings and washings. By doing these things, you will find this fabric to be very versatile and useful for many garments. The colors are consistent. This is an excellent product. The biggest downfall is that it is only 45" wide.
Date published: 2013-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bring back the blackberry and Frost Gray! Great fabric for my project. They always discontinued my favorite colors though. Please bring back the blackberry and Frost Gray!
Date published: 2013-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Angry but Useful Product I was amused when a Jo-ann employee said to me "This is an angry fabric." She's right. It doesn't really want to be made into clothing; it frays like crazy along any cut edge and the fraying threads are so strong and so light that I have several times had them wrap around my feet and trip me. ANYthing I make with this has got to have completely enclosed seams: french, flat-felled, or lined. That said, I find it useful for dance costumes that are very full and open, allowing sufficient air movement to compensate for the fabric's tendency to trap heat and sweat.
Date published: 2012-12-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from You get what you pay for I have used this in a number of dance costumes over the years and I must say that it does look pretty decent -- but the edges fray like crazy and it's not very durable. It might hold up better if you serge the edges; I haven't tried it though. On the upside there are a lot of colors to choose from and from a distance it looks pretty sharp.
Date published: 2012-09-12
  • y_2024, m_2, d_22, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.38
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_70
  • loc_en_US, sid_prd7633, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_joann