Patons Astra Light Weight Acrylic Yarn

by Patons |

Item # 9841099
Patons Astra Light Weight Acrylic Yarn is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 51.
  • y_2024, m_5, d_26, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_prd24735, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_joann
Discounted Price $5.99 ea.
  • 10% off your order of $85+, 15% off $100+, or 20% off $150+ | Free Shipping over $75 when you use code:

How To Get It

Work up an on-trend look in a jiffy with the stylish Patons Astra Yarn. Choose from a range of chic shades, there is one for everyone in the family so that you look the lovely close-knit family that you are. This pure acrylic yarn envelops the family in its warm and comfortable hug. Ideal for everyday use this machine washable and dryable yarn is easy to care for.

  • Solids Composition: 100% acrylic
  • Variegated Composition: 100% acrylic
  • Crystal Composition: 89% acrylic and 11% olefin
  • Solids Weight: 1.75 oz/50 g; 161 yds/147 m
  • Variegated Weight: 1.75 oz/50 g; 133 yds/122 m
  • Crystal Weight: 1.75 oz/50 g; 161 yds/147 m
  • Weight Category: 3
  • Knit Gauge: 4 in = 22 stitches on size 6 needles
  • Recommended Crochet Hook Size: F5
  • Care: Machine wash; tumble dry; do not bleach, dry clean or do not iron

SHIPPING

Most items typically ship within 1-3 business days, you'll receive an email with tracking information as soon as that happens! You can usually expect delivery within 6-10 business days, after you place your order, depending on destination.   LEARN MORE


RETURNS

We want you to be completely satisfied, so we are happy to accept returns for most online purchases in-stores for free or by mail, minus a $7.95 shipping and handling fee. Sewing Machines (all brands) & Craft Tech Machines (all brands) require a $25 restocking fee if returned by the customer. For policy exclusions, including electronics, please review our RETURN POLICY.

  

Just For You

You may also like

Frequently Bought Together

Just For You

Frequently Bought Together

Best Sellers

Shop JOANN's Top Selling Products
#HANDMADEWITHJOANN

#HANDMADEWITHJOANN

SHOW US WHAT YOU MADE SHOW US WHAT YOU MADE
Write a product review for a chance to
WIN A $100 JOANN GIFT CARD!

WIN A $100 JOANN GIFT CARD!

Valid 5/1 - 5/31 for U.S. orders only
TERMS & CONDITIONS
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yarn is great for summer tops I've used Patons Astra before and really like the yarn it self but the weight is really great for summer projects.
Date published: 2018-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice yarn I love this yarn, making fair Isle slipper's.When knitted it has a nice springy feel. It doesn't spilt. Highly recommend this yarn.
Date published: 2017-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite yarn I've been buying this yarn for years. Love the feel of it both while knitting with it and in finished sweaters.
Date published: 2017-09-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Disappointed I ordered the All Girl yarn to make a sweater for my granddaughter. The photo online shoes a varigated pink, white and purple which was perfect. What arrived was black, dark pink and dark purple. Definitely not as advertised. I did return to the store. Wish I had taken a picture. FYI, I also purchased the solid purple which was as pictured.
Date published: 2017-09-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The colors shown are so wrong I bought medium tan for a project and it isn't even close to what's shown online
Date published: 2017-08-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't trust the colors pictured I bought the medium tan color because the picture online was similar to what I needed for a project. The order came today and the "medium tan" I ordered is more milk chocolate. I understand the colors can be slightly different than what is shown online, but this difference is too drastic to have anything to do with color and screen resolutions. Super not happy because I have no need for a milk chocolate color when I needed a tan. The yarn itself is soft and would be great for a project needing soft yarn, but colorwise it is all wrong.
Date published: 2017-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very baby worthy I ordered this yarn about a month ago for a baby blanket my cousin wanted me to make for his wife and unborn daughter. I had never touched this yarn before, and surprised how soft it is. Easy to work with. My 6 month old son keeps trying to steal the blanket as I attempt to work on it. In this time, I have found a stuffed animal to go with the blanket, and now will be placing another order for more yarn to make this animal in same colors as the blanket to make a complete set. I cant wait to give it to him and for him to give it to his wife. My 6 month old says it passes the baby test!
Date published: 2017-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Working with Astra Yarn for the First Time I am busy knitting with Patons Astra Yarn for the first time. Very satisfied. Very soft as it is for a baby and easy to work with. Only problem is that it does not come out of the center very easily.
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Love it. I bought the Astra yarn to make a sweater with a unicorn on it. It's beautiful.
Date published: 2017-06-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Scratchy and Stiff The colors are beautiful, but the product is so scratchy. It reminds me of Red Heart Super Saver. I think I will stick to Vanna's or Sweet Roll for charity knitting.
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Toddler’s Outer Space Flight Suit The perfect colour to complete my Toddler’s Jumpsuit inspired by a Star War’s Character. I searched everywhere for the colour match and this was the closest and also the most appropriate yarn for a child’s outfit. Thank you!
Date published: 2016-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Patons yarn Easy to work with, especially for baby projects: hats, sweaters, etc.
Date published: 2016-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good; small and colors are off (or my screen is) I bought this apricot yarn thinking it would be good for making light-skinned dolls, but in person it is far too bright and orange-y for it to be a good skin color (for a human anyway). It's still a pretty color, I'll just use it for something else. Also the weight is far smaller than I had thought, I should have looked closer at the gauge as it is recommended you use an F hook for this (which is pretty small). This also means the yarn ball itself is pretty small, which makes it hard to figure what I will use it for and if I will have enough yarn. It does feel soft, although I haven't yet used it so I can't comment on its performance during knitting or crocheting.
Date published: 2016-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice yarn I had a request for an emerald green baby blanket and was very pleased with this yarn, it was soft enough for a baby, easy to use, and good value. I am unable to send a picture, it is already being used by the baby.
Date published: 2016-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this product because I was looking for a light weight yarn to make plushies with. Most yarns of this weight tend to be the baby variety, and are too soft to hold the shape of the product well, and are a more washed out color. Artra yarn, however has a nice rich color and held the stitches extraordinarily well, giving the finished product a very uniform and solid look, and it held the stuffing perfectly. I was very pleased with the finished product and plan on ordering more colors. I highly recommend it for this purpose.
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yarn has great feel!! Crocheted the "Hungry Caterpillar" cocoon for a newborn. Yarn worked great, very happy.
Date published: 2016-03-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A cheap worsted yarn! I'll never buy it again. I agree with one of the previous reviews and wished I would have the read the review before buying it. Though the colors are nice, don't let the colors fool you. The yarn is scratching and stiff. The weight of the yarn is closer to a worsted 4 weight.
Date published: 2016-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dependable! I've been knitting with this yarn for years and it never fails to deliver a product that will last for years. My grand niece was wearing a sweater I made for her Mom! Just knit a pair of cozy socks; so washable and never stretches out of shape. Love Paton's Canadiana for a worsted weight.
Date published: 2015-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality I use this yarn for baby items. Variety of colors is fantastic.
Date published: 2015-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful soft yarn I made a beautiful cowl and matching ear warmer using 4 different colors. It was fantastic to work with and the finished project is soft and wonderful to wear. I had not knots or breaks in yarn and no problems crocheting with it. 
Date published: 2014-01-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Recent reviews??? I have done a lot of knitting with Astra over the years and really liked it but for the past few years I have been really busy with sewing and other projects and haven't used it.  I have a cute old sweater pattern that I want to make for my granddaughter but these old reviews give such mixed messages that I'm not sure I should. Is anyone who has used it recently able to give their opinion?  My rating and recommendation is based on my prior use. 
Date published: 2013-12-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from decreasing quantity I have used this yarn for years and just loved it...BUT when I first tried this yarn, there were over 200 yards on each skein. Now, there is 150 yards or less. 50+ yards less yards per skein causes major problems in following patterns. It may be a good product but the added expense to buy more just to complete your pattern is not too appealing.
Date published: 2010-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS YARN I've lost count of the number of skeins I have used. I love it for light weight afghans. It's soft and seldom has a knot in the yarn and works up beautifully. One error in the description - there are 161 yards per skein in the solid colors, not 133 as described. Check the label. Tt (133 yds) may refer to the ombres which usually do have less yardage.
Date published: 2009-05-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not your Grannie's Astra I used Astra to make my own children's baby layettes. I would not use it now for my grandkids. What has happened to this wonderful yarn? It's hard, scratchy and knits more like a cheap worsted weight. My old Behive Astra (I still find old skeins at garage sales and thrift shops)feels nothing like this when compared hand to hand. I prefer to pay a little more and get the quality.
Date published: 2008-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shazam!!! Its Beautiful!! I make and donate hats for children at a cancer clinic. They love all the bright colors and softness of this yarn. It works up beautifully. I am disabled and only have the use of one hand, so I use kniffty knitter looms. I love this yarn and will buy every chance I get. I plan to knit hats in every color.
Date published: 2008-07-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from So disappointed I found a beautiful sweater pattern and was excited to knit it in this soft yarn. But upon beginning to wear the sweater, I'm finding that it is pilling and snagging so easily! I am so disappointed after all the work. I would not recommend this yarn!
Date published: 2008-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from REALLY LIKE THIS YARN I like this yarn because it is soft, easy to work with, works up like a sport yarn which is my favorite type. I have made 2 small afghans and working on the third. The reason I did not rate it a complete 5 - I think most things could be made better - nothing is perfect.
Date published: 2008-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great yarn for little kids sweaters I just finished making a baby sweater, hat, and pants in white, light blue, dark blue, and bright green. It is very nice and I did not have splitting problem. The finished product looks excellent. I am online purchasing more for my next project, a shirt and booties to go with what I made and more for another set of sweater, hat, pants, etc.:)
Date published: 2008-04-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Rough and splitty I don't like this yarn for crocheting, I find it splits far too easily and it feels rough. Not what I really want for a sweater for a baby.
Date published: 2007-12-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the same as Paton's Beehive Astra I'm very disappointed that this yarn is not at all like the Paton's Beehive Astra I used to use. This yarn lacks the springiness and substance of the original. It splits easily, and does not knit up the same in patterns I used before. Some of the colours are made in Turkey and some in Canada, and some have a sheen that is inappropriate, almost like a polished cotton. They do not have the substance, fibre and sparkle that Beehive had. This could be fine for someone who was not in love with the original, but that yarn was the best. This is just not a quality product anymore.
Date published: 2007-07-21
  • y_2024, m_5, d_26, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_prd24735, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_joann